WASHINGTON, DC – Today, Congressman Jamie Raskin’s (MD-08) Protect Reporters from Exploitative State Spying (PRESS) Act, passed the House of Representatives with unanimous, bipartisan support. Introduced with Representatives John Yarmuth (KY-03) and Ted Lieu (CA-33), Rep. Raskin’s legislation would safeguard a free and independent press by affording a federal statutory privilege to protect journalists from being compelled to reveal confidential sources and prevent federal law enforcement from abusing subpoena power.
“Today is a triumphant day for press freedom,” said Rep. Raskin. “With the PRESS Act closer than ever to becoming law, a federal press shield law is within reach that affords journalists protection from government overreach and abuse of the subpoena power. I’m grateful to Representatives Yarmuth and Lieu for their partnership in this effort to make good on this foundational constitutional promise, and I urge our colleagues in the Senate to advance the central, bipartisan mission of protecting a truly free and unmuzzled press—by sending this legislation to the president’s desk.”
The PRESS Act has the endorsement of Demand Progress, National Association of Broadcasters (NAB), News Media Alliance (NMA), News Leaders Association, MPA – The Association of Magazine Media, Protect the 1st, Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA), Reporters Without Borders (RSF), and the Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ).
Rep. Raskin previously introduced a bipartisan federal press shield bill in 2017. That bill was based on a 2007 press shield bill (H.R. 2102) that passed the House with overwhelming bipartisan support on a 398-21 vote and was championed by then-Congressman Mike Pence. Senator Ron Wyden (D-OR) introduced a Senate version of the bill in 2021.