Rockville, MD Today, Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) launched the 2022 Congressional App Challenge. The Congressional App Challenge encourages middle and high school students to learn how to code by creating their own applications for congressional recognition. Since 2013, members of the House of Representatives have hosted the Challenge to inspire students across the nation to explore computer science and coding. More information on the Congressional App Challenge and its history is available here.

“Each year, the Congressional App Challenge summons the tech savvy and civic responsibility of Maryland’s Eighth District youth,” said Rep. Raskin. “Our past winners have created innovative technological solutions to COVID-19 risk mitigation and active missing persons cases. I am excited for our impressive Eighth District students to again inspire us with their technological skills, social vision and problem-solving ingenuity.”

Middle and high school students living or attending school in Maryland’s Eighth Congressional District may submit their applications to the Challenge beginning today, August 17, until the final deadline: Tuesday, November 1 at 12:00 p.m. On December 6, at the beginning of Computer Science Education Week,  Rep. Raskin will announce the Eighth District winner. 

Students are advised that they need not submit a finished app to the challenge. Instead, they are simply required to submit a short video explaining their app and show footage of any finished portions of the app.

The 2021 MD-08 Congressional App Challenge winners were Walter Johnson High School seniors Ainesh Chatterjee, Salamun Nuhin, Botond Parkanyi and Charles Wang. The four created CoronaSafe, a Python-based application that analyzes COVID case data and urban density to create a unique COVID contraction risk calculation for any global address given by the user. Rep. Raskin interviewed the students about their application and creation process on his weekly Local Hero series.

More information about the Challenge, including eligibility and submission guidelines is available at Congressman Raskin’s website.