(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen and Congressmen Steny Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, John Sarbanes, Anthony G. Brown, Jamie Raskin, and David Trone (all D-Md.) today announced more than $13,866,000 in federal funding for the improvement and modernization of bus systems throughout Maryland from the United States Department of Transportation (DOT) Grants for Buses and Bus Facilities Program (49 U.S.C. 5339). These federal funds will support the replacement, rehabilitation, purchase, or lease of buses, related equipment, and/or facilities. Bus systems in Baltimore County, the Eastern Shore, Delmarva, St. Mary’s County, and the Greater Washington Region (WMATA) will benefit from these awards.

“Reliable, safe, modernized bus systems are a critical resource for communities around Maryland. Buses connect commuters and visitors with other transit hubs and often are the most affordable method to connect students to school, employees to workplace, and residents to essential community services,” said the lawmakers. “These significant resources will go a long way toward improving the quality of life for thousands of Marylanders.”

More details about the Grants for Buses and Bus Facilities Program may be found through DOT here.

Grants for Maryland announced Thursday include: