(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Raskin issued the following statement in response to the Federal Transit Administration's (FTA) decision to withhold federal transportation funding from D.C., Maryland, and Virginia. The withheld funds are in response to the regional coalition's missing an arbitrary Feb. 9, 2017 deadline to create an independent safety commission to oversee Washington Metropolitan Transit Authority (WMATA):  

“The FTA's decision to withhold these funds sends a costly warning to all of our jurisdictions to move quickly on the independent safety commission. I know Maryland Delegate Kumar Barve's bill (HB0119) to establish the metrorail safety commission and interstate compact was heard by the Environment and Transportation Committee yesterday and having consulted several state legislative leaders, I'm convinced that my colleagues in Maryland are focused on getting the job done quickly. I hope that Governor Hogan will join me in working with the FTA for a prompt and satisfactory conclusion to this crucial matter significant to the people of Maryland and beyond. Although the Maryland General Assembly just came back into Session a few weeks ago, I know the members appreciate the importance and urgency of acting next week.”


Congressman Jamie Raskin represents Maryland’s 8th Congressional District, which includes Montgomery, Frederick, and Carroll counties. He serves on the House Judiciary Committee and the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee. Raskin is the Freshman Representative on the House Democratic Steering and Policy Committee, the Congressional Progressive Caucus Vice Chair and Liaison to New Members, and a Senior Whip for the House Democratic Caucus.