(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Representative Jamie Raskin (MD-08) joined Reps. Jackie Speier (CA-14), Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Lois Frankel and 15 colleagues in sending a letter to President Trump requesting he immediately demand Secretary of Labor Alexander Acosta’s resignation due to his severe mishandling of the Epstein case, reinforced by the recent ruling by U.S. District Judge Kenneth Marra, which found that the Secretary violated the Crime Victims’ Rights Act (CVRA) by secretly arranging a plea deal.

“This despicable unjust plea deal that was arranged by Acosta showed no respect for the suffering of the victims and credible accounts of human trafficking and was a clear abuse of power for political gain,” the Representatives said. “We strongly believe that Secretary Acosta was negligent in his duty to represent the best interests of the victims and the U.S. Government. As such, we request that you immediately demand his letter of resignation.”
Mr. Epstein, a billionaire with deep political connections, has been accused of molesting and trafficking over 80 young women, according to various reports, since the early 2000s. Despite abundant evidence and multiple witnesses still willing to come forward, then-U.S. Attorney Acosta failed to charge Epstein under federal trafficking laws, which could have put Epstein away for life. Instead, he pleaded guilty to far lesser prostitution-related charges and served only 13 months in a private wing of a county jail, but was able to leave 6 days a week for 12 hours at a time. This Thursday, the Florida District judge ruled that Labor Secretary Alexander Acosta violated the Crime Victims’ Rights Act (CVRA) when he was a U.S. Attorney by not notifying the victims of the plea deal or allowing them to object.

The following is a full list of Members who have signed onto the letter: Representatives Jackie Speier (CA-14), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23), Lois Frankel (FL-21), Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26), Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. (CA-39), James P. McGovern (MA-02), Jamie Raskin (MD-08), Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), Jared Huffman (CA-02), Tim Ryan (OH-13), Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18), Steve Cohen (TN-09), David Cicilline (RI-01), Donald S. Beyer Jr. (VA-08), Theodore E. Deutch (FL-22), Janice Schakowsky (IL-09), Kathy Castor (FL-04), David Scott (GA-13), Brenda Lawrence (MI-14).

You can read a copy of the letter here.