(WASHINGTON, D.C.) - Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) and Members of the Maryland Congressional Delegation, including Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen and Congressmen Steny H. Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, John Sarbanes, Kweisi Mfume, Anthony G. Brown and David Trone (all D-Md.), issued the following statement today after Maryland's June 2 primary election, held amid the COVID-19 pandemic and nationwide protests against police brutality and inequality:

“The primary election in Maryland on Tuesday was conducted under extraordinary circumstances that required timing changes and significant adjustments to voting methods.  Under this pressure, it is clear there have been a number of breakdowns in the process.

“With the full participation and cooperation of the Maryland State Board of Elections and the Board’s staff, there must be an urgent, thorough and rigorous review of the Maryland primary election to identify problems that occurred, take steps to address them and ensure that as a state we are well-prepared to conduct a safe, free and fair election in November. Policymakers and election administrators at every level of government have a responsibility to join in this effort and do so in a way that bolsters the confidence of Maryland voters and make sure that they are able to cast their vote and have that vote accurately counted.”