WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen and Congressmen Steny H. Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, John Sarbanes, Kweisi Mfume, Anthony G. Brown, Jamie Raskin, Andy Harris, M.D. and David Trone (all Md.) today announced $10,687,408 in federal funding to the Maryland State Department of Education and to the Y of Central Maryland to expand early learning options for Maryland’s low-income families, provide additional professional development opportunities for educators and support family well-being programs.


“Providing our children the opportunity to learn at an early age is key to their future success,” the lawmakers said. “This funding will go to programs that help address educational inequities for low-income families, which have widened during the pandemic. Team Maryland will continue to fight for equitable access to high-quality educational programs for all Marylanders.”


The $10,687,408 award comes from the Department of Health and Human Services Office of Child Care and the Office of Head Start and will be distributed as follows:


  • $8,942,996 to the Maryland State Department of Education for Every Student Succeeds Act Preschool Development Grants Program
  • $1,744,412 to the Y of Central Maryland’s Head Start Program