(WASHINGTON, D.C.) - Congressman Jamie Raskin (D-MD) today joined Representatives Collin C. Peterson (D-MN), Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA), Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE) and Henry Cuellar (D-TX), co-chairs of the 4-H Congressional Caucus, in sending a letter to Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi, Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy, Appropriations Committee Chairwoman Nita Lowey, and Appropriations Committee Ranking Member Kay Granger to request additional resources for youth development organizations to continue supporting children and families during the COVID-19 pandemic.

"More than 55 million children have lost familiar environments, daily routines, and support systems in recent months, and the impact on learning loss could extend well beyond the end of this crisis. As the House considers further COVID-19 aid legislation, we urge you to incorporate immediate supplemental funding for USDA and Department of Justice youth development grants to sustain distance learning and mentoring activities for young people at this critical time," wrote the Members of Congress.

They continued, "Many youth development organizations, including 4-H, have shifted their activities online in recent months. The new emphasis on remote learning creates a need for additional resources to train educators to employ emerging best practices in youth development, and to develop new distance learning content at an accelerated pace. Supplemental funding for the following youth development grant programs would support the efforts of these organizations and ensure they can continue to reach young people in isolation."

"National 4-H Council is proud to serve the Cooperative Extension system which has continued to deliver high quality 4-H programs to millions of families during the COVID-19 pandemic," said National 4-H Council President and CEO Jennifer Sirangelo. "We are tremendously thankful to Chairman Peterson, the Congressional 4-H Caucus, and today's cosigners for their unwavering support of the 4-H mission."

The following Members of Congress also signed the letter: Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. (D-NC); Cindy Axne (D-IA); James R. Baird (R-IN); Troy Balderson (R-OH); Anthony Brindisi (D-NY); Jim Costa (D-CA); TJ Cox (D-CA); Angie Craig (D-MN); Rick Crawford (R-AR); Brian Fitzpatrick(R-PA); Jeff Fortenberry (R-NE); Sylvia R. Garcia (D-TX); Vicente Gonzalez (D-TX); Josh Harder (D-CA); Kendra S. Horn (D-OK); Will Hurd (R-TX); Dusty Johnson (R-SD); Trent Kelly (R-MS); Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH); Frank Lucas (R-OK); Roger Marshall, M.D. (R-KS); Michael T. McCaul (R-TX); Carol D. Miller (R-WV); Jimmy Panetta (D-CA); Chellie Pingree (D-ME); John Rose (R-TN); Harley Rouda (D-CA); Terri A. Sewell (D-AL); Bennie Thompson (D-MS); Glenn 'GT' Thompson (R-PA); David Trone (D-MD); Jeff Van Drew (R-NJ) and Juan Vargas (D-CA).