(WASHINGTON, D.C.) — Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) is one of 80 House Democrats who joined Congressional Hispanic Caucus (CHC) Chairman Joaquin Castro in demanding the Trump Administration safely and swiftly release all parents and children that are in immigration family detention centers following the order of Judge Dolly Gee. In a letter to Acting Homeland Security Secretary Wolf and Acting Immigrations and Customs Enforcement (ICE) Director Albence, the Members denounced the Trump Administration’s use of the pandemic to implement cruel and inhumane policies toward immigrants, and urged ICE to seek alternatives to family detention and commit to a permanent policy of family unity.

The Members wrote: “Since the COVID-19 crisis started, Members of Congress, advocates, attorneys, and doctors have continuously urged ICE to use its authority to release detained families. We know the Administration has a history of separating thousands of children from their parents. Family separation should never be this country’s policy. We call upon ICE to act with compassion and release families together. Once these families are free from detention, together, we urge ICE to commit to a permanent policy of family unity and to seek alternatives to family detention– including release on recognizance or community-driven support - in every case.”

The letter was signed by CHC Chairman Joaquin Castro (TX-20), Judiciary Chairman Jerrold Nadler (NY-10), Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40), Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren (CA-13), Congresswoman Nydia Velázquez (NY-12), First Vice Chair Ruben Gallego (AZ-07),  Second Vice Chair Nanette Diaz Barragán (CA-44), Whip Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), Freshman Representative Veronica Escobar (TX-16), Congresswoman Linda T. Sánchez (CA-38), Congresswoman Sylvia Garcia (TX-29), Congressman Al Green (TX-9), Congressman Albio Sires (NJ-8), Congresswoman Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14), Congressman Ami Bera, M.D. (CA-7), Congresswoman Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-2), Congressman Anthony Brown (MD-04), Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley (MA-7), Congresswoman Barbara Lee (CA-13), Congressman Bill Foster (IL-11), Congressman Bill Pascrell (NJ-9), Congresswoman Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Congresswoman Carolyn B. Maloney (NY-12), Congressman Cedric Richmond (LA-2), Congressman Danny K. Davis (IL-7), Congressman Darren Soto (FL-09), Congressman David Price (NC-4), Congresswoman Deb Haaland (NM-01), Congresswoman Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26), Congressman Earl Blumenauer (OR-3), Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC-At Large), Congressman Emanuel Cleaver, II (MO-5), Congressman Filemon Vela (TX-34), Congresswoman Frederica S. Wilson (FL-24), Congresswoman Grace F. Napolitano (CA-32), Congresswoman Grace Meng (NY-6), Congressman Greg Stanton (AZ-9), Congresswoman Ilhan Omar (MN-5), Congressman J. Luis Correa (CA-46), Congresswoman Jackie Speier (NY-14), Congresswoman Jahana Hayes (CT-5), Congressman James P. McGovern (MA-2), Congressman Jim Langevin (RI-2), Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-8), Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky (FL-9), Congressman Jesús "Chuy" García (IL-04), Congressman Jimmy Panetta (CA-20), Congressman Joe Neguse (CO-2), Congressman José Serrano (NY-15), Congressman Juan Vargas (CA-51), Congresswoman Judy Chu (CA-27), Congresswoman Julia Brownley (CA-26), Congresswoman Katherine Clark (MA-5), Congressman Lloyd Doggett (TX-35), Congresswoman Madeleine Dean (PA-4), Congressman Marc Veasey (TX-33), Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur (OH-9), Congressman Mark Pocan (WI-2), Congressman Mark Takano (CA-41), Congressman Mike Quigley (IL-5), Congressman Bennie G. Thompson (MS-2), Congresswoman Norma Torres (CA-35), Congressman Pete Aguilar (CA-31), Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal (WA-7), Congresswoman Rashida Tlaib (MI-13), Congressman Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ-3), Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro (CT-03), Congressman Steven Horsford (NV-04), Congressman Danny K. Davis (IL-7), Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici (OR-1), Congressman Ted Lieu (CA-33), Congressman Tony Cárdenas (CA-29), Congressman Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. (GA-4), Congressman Jason Crow (CA-6), Congressman Donald M. Payne, Jr. (NJ-10), Congressman Adam Smith (WA-9), Congressman Alan Lowenthal (CA-47), Congressman Bennie G. Thompson (MS-2), Congresswoman Dina Titus (NV-3), and Congresswoman Lori Trahan (MA-03).

Full text of the letter follows and can be found here.