(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) today joined Congresswomen Ayanna Pressley (MA-07), Chair of Pro-Choice Caucus’s Abortion Rights and Access Task Force, Veronica Escobar (TX-16), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Co-Chair of the Pro-Choice Caucus, and Jan Schakowsky (IL-09), Chair of Pro-Choice Caucus’s Providers and Clinics Task Force and more than than 155 colleagues in calling on House Democratic leadership to ensure that any future COVID-19 relief packages reject Republican efforts to diminish access to comprehensive reproductive health care.

“As proud members of the first pro-choice majority in the House of Representatives, we unequivocally oppose efforts to roll back access to reproductive health services, including abortion, and underscore the role that these essential services continue to play in the time of a global pandemic,” write the lawmakers. “While we are grateful for your leadership and work standing against attempts to further restrict abortion access in COVID-19 relief packages, it is critical that we continue to fight to ensure that any future relief packages reject Republican efforts to diminish access to comprehensive reproductive health care. We must ensure that all communities are able to seek the essential and time-sensitive services they need during these difficult times.”

In previous COVID-19 relief packages, Senate Republicans have included discriminatory Hyde Amendment-like restrictions on abortion access, which disproportionately harm low-income people and people of color.  Across the nation, Republican anti-choice lawmakers have attempted to use the COVID-19 crisis as a pretext to restrict access to abortion and reproductive healthcare.

“As Congress continues to respond to the unprecedented COVID-19 pandemic, we must reject any further provisions that harm access to abortion care, restrict abortion coverage, or contribute to clinics shutting their doors,” the lawmakers continue. “These restrictions on abortion access will only further exacerbate the impact this pandemic is already placing on our most vulnerable communities. We must reject any and all efforts to undermine comprehensive reproductive health care access.”

The letter is also signed by Representatives A. Donald McEachin (D-VA), Adam B. Schiff (D-CA), Adam Smith (D-WA), Adriano Espaillat (D-NY), Al Green (D-TX), Al Lawson (D-FL), Alan Lowenthal (D-CA), Albio Sires (D-NJ), Alcee L. Hastings (D-FL), Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY), Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. (D-NC), Ami Bera, M.D. (D-CA), André Carson (D-IN), Andy Levin (D-MI), Angie Craig (D-MN), Ann Kirkpatrick (D-AZ), Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH), Anna G. Eshoo (D-CA), Anthony G. Brown (D-MD), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), Bennie G. Thompson (D-MS), Betty McCollum (D-MN), Bill Foster (D-IL), Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ), Brad Sherman (D-CA), Bradley S. Schneider (D-IL), Brenda L. Lawrence (D-MI), Brian Higgins (D-NY), Carolyn B. Maloney (D-NY), Cedric L. Richmond (D-LA), Chellie Pingree (D-ME), Chris Pappas (D-NH), Colin Z. Allred (D-TX), Daniel T. Kildee (D-MI), Danny K. Davis (D-IL), Darren Soto (D-FL), Dave Loebsack (D-IA), David N. Cicilline (D-RI), David Price (D-NC), David Scott (D-GA), David Trone (D-MD), Dean Phillips (D-MN), Deb Haaland (D-NM), Debbie Dingell (D-MI), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL), Denny Heck (D-WA), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Diana DeGette (D-CO), Dina Titus (D-NV), Donald M. Payne, Jr. (D-NJ), Donald S. Beyer Jr. (D-VA), Donna E. Shalala (D-FL), Doris O. Matsui (D-CA), Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Ed Perlmutter (D-CO), Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Eliot L. Engel (D-NY), Emanuel Cleaver, II (D-MO), Gerald E. Connolly (D-VA), Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. (D-CA), Grace F. Napolitano (D-CA), Grace Meng (D-NY), Gregory W. Meeks (D-NY), Gwen Moore (D-WI), Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY), Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. (D-GA), Ilhan Omar (D-MN), Jackie Speier (D-CA), Jahana Hayes (D-CT), James P. McGovern (D-MA), Jamie Raskin (D-MD), Jared Huffman (D-CA), Jason Crow (D-CO), Jennifer Wexton (D-VA), Jerrold Nadler (D-NY), Jesús G. "Chuy" García (D-IL), Jim Himes (D-CT), Jimmy Gomez (D-CA), Jimmy Panetta (D-CA), Joe Neguse (D-CO), John B. Larson (D-CT), John P. Sarbanes (D-MD), John Yarmuth (D-KY), José E. Serrano (D-NY), Joseph P. Kennedy, III (D-MA), Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ), Josh Harder (D-CA), Joyce Beatty (D-OH), Juan Vargas (D-CA), Judy Chu (D-CA), Julia Brownley (D-CA), Ed Case (D-HI), Katherine Clark (D-MA), Kathleen M. Rice (D-NY), Kathy Castor (D-FL), Katie Porter (D-CA), Kim Schrier, M.D. (D-WA), Lauren Underwood (D-IL), Linda T. Sánchez (D-CA), Lisa Blunt Rochester (D-DE), Lizzie Fletcher (D-TX), Lloyd Doggett (D-TX), Lois Frankel (D-FL), Lori Trahan (D-MA), Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA), Lucy McBath (D-GA), Madeleine Dean (D-PA), Marc Veasey (D-TX), Marcia L. Fudge (D-OH), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Mark Pocan (D-WI), Mark Takano (D-CA), Max Rose (D-NY), Maxine Waters (D-CA), Mike Doyle (D-PA), Mike Levin (D-CA), Mike Quigley (D-IL), Nanette Diaz Barragán (D-CA), Nita M. Lowey (D-NY), Norma J. Torres (D-CA), Nydia M. Velázquez (D-NY), Paul Tonko (D-NY), Peter A. DeFazio (D-OR), Peter Welch (D-VT), Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), Rashida Tlaib (D-MI), Raúl M. Grijalva (D-AZ), Rick Larsen (D-WA), Ro Khanna (D-CA), Robert C. "Bobby" Scott (D-VA), Robin L. Kelly (D-IL), Ron Kind (D-WI), Rosa L. DeLauro (D-CT), Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), Salud O. Carbajal (D-CA), Scott Peters (D-CA), Sean Casten (D-IL), Sean Patrick Maloney (D-NY), Seth Moulton (D-MA), Sharice L. Davids (D-KS), Steve Cohen (D-TN), Susan A. Davis (D-CA), Susan Wild (D-PA), Susie Lee (D-NV), Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR), Sylvia R. Garcia (D-TX), Ted Deutch (D-FL), Ted W. Lieu (D-CA), Thomas R Suozzi (D-NY), Tim Ryan (D-OH), Tony Cárdenas (D-CA), Yvette D. Clarke (D-NY), and Zoe Lofgren (D-CA).

The full text of the letter can be found here.