WASHINGTON, D.C. — Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) joined over 100 House Democrats, led by the Congressional Hispanic Caucus (CHC), in sending a letter urging the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to automatically extend employment authorization for all immigrants whose employment authorization documents (EADs) are about to expire. In a letter to Acting Secretary Wolf and Senior Official Cuccinelli, Democratic members are calling for immediate, common sense action to protect public health and prevent work authorizations from expiring in the midst of the coronavirus pandemic.

“Responding to COVID-19 requires a nationwide response, and the widespread job losses and vital federal, state, and local measures enacted to combat COVID-19 erected significant barriers for current EAD holders, especially DACA recipients, seeking to renew,” the Members wrote. “At least 270 million people in 33 states and the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico are under “stay at home” orders, meaning that immigrants cannot leave their homes to collect supporting documents, print and prepare, and mail their applications.”

“Extending work authorization to immigrants, including DACA recipients and TPS holders, not only benefits immigrant youth, but our communities, and the nation’s continued economic recovery,” the Members concluded.

The letter was signed by CHC Chairman Joaquin Castro (TX-20), Judiciary Committee Chairman Jerrold Nadler (NY-10), Homeland Security Appropriations Subcommittee Chair Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40), Immigration Subcommittee Chair Zoe Lofgren (CA-13), Congressman James P. McGovern (MA-2), Congressman Jimmy Panetta (CA-20), Congressman Jesús "Chuy" García (IL-04), Congresswoman Nydia Velázquez (NY-12), Congressman Mark Pocan (WI-2), Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC-At Large), Congressman Adriano Espaillat (NY-13), Congresswoman Jahana Hayes (CT-5), Congresswoman Linda T. Sánchez (CA-38), Congressman Raúl M. Grijalva (AZ-3), CongressmanJ. Luis Correa (CA-46), Congresswoman Veronica Escobar (TX-16), Congresswoman Judy Chu (CA-27), Congressman Tony Cárdenas (CA-29), Congresswoman Barbara Lee (CA-13), Earl Blumenauer (OR-3), Congresswoman Jan Schakowsky (IL-9), Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23), Congresswoman Jackie Speier (CA-14), Congresswoman Grace F. Napolitano (CA-32), Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur (OH-9), Congressman Al Green (TX-9), Congresswoman Carolyn B. Maloney (NY-12), Congresswoman Yvette D. Clarke (NY-9), Congressman Ruben Gallego (AZ-7), Congressman Joe Neguse (CO-2), Congressman Emanuel Cleaver, II (MO-5), Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley (MA-7), Congresswoman Gwen Moore (WI-4), Congressman Gerald E. Connolly (VA-11), Congressman Mike Doyle (PA-18), Congresswoman Sylvia R. Garcia (TX-29), Congressman Lloyd Doggett (TX-35), Congresswoman Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (NY-14), Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-8), Congressman Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan (Northern Marina Islands-At Large), Congressman Scott H. Peters (CA-52), Congressman Albio Sires (NJ-8), Congresswoman Chellie Pingree (ME-1), Congressman Joseph P. Kennedy III (MA-3), Congressman Vicente Gonzalez (TX-15), Congresswoman Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12), Congressman Ami Bera, M.D. (CA-7), Congressman Jared Huffman (CA-2), Congresswoman Nanette Diaz Barragán (CA-44), Congressman Jerry McNerney (CA-9), Congressman Sean Casten (IL-06), Congresswoman Karen Bass (CA-33), Congressman Michael F.Q. San Nicolas (Guam-At Large), Congressman José E. Serrano (NY-16), Congresswoman Dina Titus (NV-3), Congressman André Carson (IN-7), Congresswoman Doris Matsui (CA-6), Congressman Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ-06), Congressman Peter Welch (VT-At Large), Congresswoman Diana DeGette (CO-1), Congresswoman Lori Trahan (MA-3), Congressman Jason Crow (CO-06), Congressman Darren Soto (FL-9), Congresswoman Norma J. Torres (CA-35), Congressman Seth W. Moulton (MA-6), Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro (CT-03), Congresswoman Frederica S. Wilson (FL-17), Congressman John B. Larson (CT-01), Congresswoman Suzanne Bonamici (OR-1), Congressman John Lewis (GA-5), Congressman Anthony G. Brown (MD-4), Congressman Ro Khanna (CA-17), Congressman Brian Higgins (NY-26), Congressman Adam Smith (WA-9), Congressman Mike Thompson (CA-5), Congresswoman Betty McCollum (MN-4), Congressman Donald S. Beyer Jr. (VA-8), Congresswoman Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. (NC-12), Congresswoman Susan A. Davis (CA-53),Congressman Greg Stanton (AZ-9), Congresswoman Suzan K. DelBene (WA-1), Congressman David N. Cicilline (RI-1), Congresswoman Donna E. Shalala (FL-27), Congressman Jimmy Gomez (CA-34), Congressman Danny K. Davis (IL-7), Gilbert R. Cisneros Jr. (CA-39), Congresswoman Julia Brownley (CA-26), Congresswoman Rashida Tlaib (MI-13), Congressman Juan Vargas (CA-51), Congresswoman Pramila Jayapal (WA-7), Congressman Bobby L. Rush (IL-1), Congresswoman Ann Kirkpatrick (AZ-2), Congressman Derek Kilmer (WA-6), Congresswoman Ilhan Omar (MI-5), Congressman Filemon Vela (TX-34), Congresswoman Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26), Congresswoman Jennifer Wexton (VA-10), Congresswoman Anna G. Eshoo (CA-18), Congressman Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-08), CongressmanBen Ray Luján (NM-3), and Congressman Thomas R. Suozzi (D–NY-16).

Full text of the letter can be found here.