(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) today joined the full Maryland congressional delegation, including U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen and Congressmen Steny H. Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, John P. Sarbanes, Andy Harris, M.D., Anthony G. Brown, and David Trone, in pushing for essential resources needed in Maryland to protect the health and safety of Marylanders. The delegation's latest time-sensitive request for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) comes as COVID-19 cases are on the rise in the state and National Capital Region region.

In a letter to the regional FEMA director, the delegation identified six priority requests to FEMA: ventilators, Personal Protective Equipment (PPE), testing supplies, swabs, pharmaceutical supplies for medical surge sites, and mobile medical labs. The delegation also urged approval of the Crisis Counseling Program (CCP) under the Individual Assistance (IA) portion of the Major Disaster Declaration for Maryland.  The Major Disaster Declaration was approved on March 27, 2020, but approval of CCP for Maryland is still under review.

A copy of the letter can be found here.