(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) today joined U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen and Congressmen Steny H. Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, John P. Sarbanes, Anthony G. Brown, and David Trone (all D-Md.) in sending a letter to President Donald Trump urging him to swiftly approve a National Governors Association request from Governors Hogan of Maryland and Cuomo of New York to waive all cost-sharing requirements for assistance under the COVID-19 Emergency Declaration and Major Disaster Declarations. Team Maryland has actively supported Maryland’s requests for robust federal support of the state and local response to COVID-19.

“Increasing the federal cost-share will allow state and local governments to focus solely on responding, containing, and mitigating the outbreak of COVID-19,” the lawmakers wrote. “States should not be forced to worry about rising costs and budgetary limits that could hamper their efforts to best save lives, protect vulnerable populations, and safeguard the health of our communities as they see fit during this pandemic.”

The federal government has taken steps to raise the federal cost-share in previous circumstances, such as after devastating hurricanes and flooding. This request comes as Maryland emergency agencies continue to work to obtain critical medical supplies – including ventilators, Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) and testing supplies – that remain unfulfilled from FEMA.

Full text of the letter can be found here.