(WASHINGTON, D.C.) - Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) today joined Reps. Andy Levin (MI-09), Ben Ray Luján (NM-03), Tom Malinowski (NJ-07) and Joe Neguse (CO-02) in sending a bipartisan letter  to Speaker Pelosi requesting that future COVID-19 response packages include stabilization funding specifically for localities with populations under 500,000. The letter was signed by 128 Members.

While the CARES Act that was signed by the president included a $150 billion Coronavirus Relief Fund, the legislation did not allow for localities with populations under 500,000 to receive stabilization funds directly.

The Members wrote: “Like their larger neighbors, though, these smaller counties, cities, and towns have faced enormous costs while responding to the COVID-19 pandemic. These costs include deploying timely public service announcements to keep Americans informed, rapidly activating emergency operations, readying employees for telework to keep services running, and more.”

The Members continued: “As you work to craft the next package to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic, we urge you to include direct stabilization funding to localities with populations under 500,000, or to lower the threshold for direct funding through the Coronavirus Relief Fund.”

Signers of the letter include: Colin Z. Allred, Nanette Diaz Barragán, Joyce Beatty, Ami Bera, M.D., Earl Blumenauer, Suzanne Bonamici, Anthony Brindisi, Anthony G. Brown, Julia Brownley, Cheri Bustos, Salud O. Carbajal, Matt Cartwright, Kathy Castor, Judy Chu, Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr., Wm. Lacy Clay, James E. Clyburn, Gerald E. Connolly, J. Luis Correa, Joe Courtney, TJ Cox, Angie Craig, Charlie Crist, Jason Crow, Henry Cuellar, Sharice L. Davids, Madeleine Dean, Peter A. DeFazio, Rosa L. DeLauro, Suzan DelBene, Val Butler Demings, Theodore E. Deutch, Debbie Dingell, Mike Doyle, Eliot L. Engel, Veronica Escobar, Anna G. Eshoo, Abby Finkenauer, Bill Foster, Sylvia R. Garcia, Vicente Gonzalez, Josh Gottheimer, Raúl M. Grijalva, Deb Haaland, Josh Harder, Alcee L. Hastings, Jahana Hayes, Jim Himes, Kendra S. Horn, Steven Horsford, Jared Huffman, Pramila Jayapal, Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr., Marcy Kaptur, Joseph P. Kennedy, III, Daniel T. Kildee, Derek Kilmer, Ann Kirkpatrick, Ann McLane Kuster, Conor Lamb, John B. Larson, Brenda L. Lawrence, Al Lawson, Barbara Lee, Susie Lee, Andy Levin, Mike Levin, Dave Loebsack, Alan Lowenthal, Ben Ray Luján, Elaine G. Luria, Tom Malinowski, Lucy McBath, Betty McCollum, A. Donald McEachin, James P. McGovern, Debbie Mucarsel-Powell, Grace F. Napolitano, Joe Neguse, Tom O’Halleran, Ilhan Omar, Frank Pallone, Jr., Jimmy Panetta, Chris Pappas, Dean Phillips, Chellie Pingree, Mark Pocan, Ayanna Pressley, Jamie Raskin, Tom Reed, Kathleen M. Rice, Cedric L. Richmond, Harley Rouda, Tim Ryan, Michael F.Q. San Nicolas, Linda T. Sánchez, Jan Schakowsky, Adam B. Schiff, Bradley S. Schneider, Kurt Schrader, Kim Schrier, M.D., David Scott, Robert C. "Bobby" Scott, Terri A. Sewell, Donna Shalala, Mikie Sherrill, Albio Sires, Elissa Slotkin, Darren Soto, Abigail D. Spanberger, Jackie Speier, Haley M. Stevens, Thomas R. Suozzi, Mark Takano, Mike Thompson, Rashida Tlaib, Paul D. Tonko, Norma J. Torres, Xochitl Torres Small, Lori Trahan, David Trone, Lauren Underwood, Juan Vargas, Filemon Vela, Debbie Wasserman Schultz, Peter Welch, Susan Wild, and Frederica S. Wilson.

A signed copy of the letter is available here.