(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Today Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) joined the full Maryland congressional delegation, including U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen and Congressmen Steny H. Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, John P. Sarbanes, Andy Harris, M.D., Anthony G. Brown, and David Trone, in announcing quick approval by the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) of a major disaster declaration for the State of Maryland related to the novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak. Such approval is necessary to assure Maryland’s eligibility for an array of emergency funding reimbursed through FEMA under the Stafford Act.

On Wednesday, the delegation urged President Trump to swiftly approve Maryland’s request. Hours before the declaration was made official Thursday, members participated in a conference call with FEMA Region 3 Administrator MaryAnn Tierney and other Mid-Atlantic delegations to discuss what federal support was needed and available.

“During these unprecedented times, Team Maryland continues to work together to provide the maximum available federal resources to protect the public health and safety of the people of Maryland,” the lawmakers said. ““Across the state, Marylanders are making important and necessary sacrifices to stop the spread of this virus and save lives. As a delegation that represents every corner of Maryland, we thank those who are fighting this on the front lines, as well as everyone who has been looking out for their neighbors, listening to medical experts, staying home and staying safe in the face of this pandemic.”

Per The White House, the president has designated that “a major disaster exists in the State of Maryland and ordered Federal assistance to supplement State, tribal, and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) pandemic beginning on January 20, 2020, and continuing.”