(WASHINGTON, D.C.)-Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) joined Rep. Andy Levin (MI-09) today in sending a letter to President Trump expressing their opposition to the nomination of Eugene Scalia to be the next Secretary of Labor.

The Members wrote:

"We believe Mr. Scalia’s consistent record of opposing workers’ rights disqualifies him from heading the Department designed to protect American workers. We urge instead that you put forward a nominee who will improve working conditions across the United States, defend workers’ rights, and raise the standard of living for working people."

The letter was signed by 27 additional Members of Congress: Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. (NC-12), Emanuel Cleaver (MO-05), Rosa L. DeLauro (CT-03), Marc DeSaulnier (CA-11), John Garamendi (CA-03), Raúl Grijalva (AZ-02), Deb Haaland (NM-01), Alcee L. Hastings (FL-20), Pramila Jayapal (WA-07), Hakeem Jeffries (NY-08), Joseph P. Kennedy, III (MA-04), Barbara Lee (CA-13), Stephen Lynch (MA-09), Jim McGovern (MA-02), Grace Meng (NY-06), Seth Moulton (MA-06), Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ-06), Mark Pocan (WI-02), Katie Porter (CA-45), Jamie Raskin (MD-09), Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40), Janice D. Schakowsky (IL-09), Rashida Tlaib (MI-13), Dina Titus (NV-01), Nydia M. Velázquez (NY-07), Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12) and Susan Wild (PA-07).

See the full version of the letter here.