(ROCKVILLE, M.D.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) has announced the 8th District winners of the 2019 Congressional Art Competition for high school students. At a reception held on Sunday at VisArts in Rockville, Maryland, Raskin honored more than 240 students who participated in this year’s competition with congressional Certificates of Recognition. This year’s winner, Daniel Navratil of Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School, will have his drawing, “Sophie B.,” displayed in the U.S. Capitol Building for one year.

Twenty second-place honorees will also have their artwork displayed in Raskin’s Capitol Hill and Rockville offices: Adeena Kreisler (A Prayer), Alec Figura (Gift), Anna Ganokrut Mookkung (Beyond Boundaries), Britney Bennett (Self-portrait with Pearl Earrings), Chunlin An (Blooming), Clare Fitzgerald (Gloria!), Diana  House (Paths of Light), Eliza Henne (Babes in Arms), Grace Tang (Lost), Isabella  Khoury (Highest Hope), Junhee Kweon (Dream About frogs), Kelsea Petersen (Survival?), Maia Hoffenberg (Still Life with Red Onion), Marisa Goldberg (Hollow), Melissa Martinez (Self-portrait with Large Hoops), Regina Orradottir (The Illusion), Rikka Angela Aguilar (Modern Renaissance Girl), Sage Long (James Baldwin), Sarah Rashid (Translucent), and Vivian Wan (Girl).  Thirty-eight pieces also received honorable mentions.

“Thanks to all for a magical celebration of our young people’s virtuoso artistic imagination and dreams,” Raskin said. “I applaud all of the enormously talented student artists who submitted their work and the family members, educators, friends, and community members who supported and encouraged them along the way. This student art is stirring and greatly uplifting.”

Selected artwork is still on display at VisArts for public viewing through Sunday, May 12, 2019. Viewing hours are Saturday, Sunday, Wednesday, and Thursday from noon to 4:00 p.m. and Friday from noon to 8:00 p.m.

Student artwork was submitted from the following schools: : Albert Einstein High School; BASIS-Independent McLean, Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School; Century High School; The Charles E. Smith Jewish Day School, Georgetown Preparatory School; Holton-Arms School; James Hubert Blake High School; Landon School; Liberty High School; Linganore High School; Lycee Rochambeau - The French International School; Maret School; Melvin J. Berman Hebrew Academy; Middletown High School; Montgomery Blair High School; Our Lady of Good Counsel; Richard Montgomery High School; Stone Ridge School of the Sacred Heart; The Siena School; Thomas S. Wootton High School; Walt Whitman High School; Westminster High School, and Wheaton High School.

Pictures from Saturday’s event are available here.