(WASHINGTON, DC.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) will serve as the new Vice Chair of the Committee on House Administration in the 116th Congress as he continues his service on the Committee in his second Term. Working under Chairperson Zoe Lofgren (CA-19), Raskin will help steer the Committee, whose jurisdiction includes oversight of federal elections and daily administrative operations in the House of Representatives.

“I’m honored to serve as Vice Chair of the House Administration Committee,” Raskin said. “I look forward to working with Chairperson Lofgren to pass sweeping campaign finance reform in H.R. 1, to secure our election infrastructure against cyber-interference, to oversee the Library of Congress and Smithsonian Institution, and to improve and uplift the basic administrative governance of the House. I’m also looking forward to working with an excellent team of new colleagues on the Committee.”

Democratic Members of the Committee include: Reps. Susan Davis (CA-53), G. K. Butterfield (NC-1), Marcia Fudge (OH-11), and Pete Aguilar (CA-31).

“I’m very pleased to name Representative Raskin as Vice Chair of the Committee on House Administration,” Lofgren said. “As a Representative of the Washington, DC-metropolitan area, he has firsthand knowledge of the issues facing legislative branch employees, many of whom work for the agencies this Committee is charged with overseeing. I look forward to working with him closely and value his insight and advice on all matters that will come before the Committee.”

Raskin has been a professor of constitutional law for more than a quarter-century at American University’s Washington College of Law and is the author of several books and dozens of law review articles in the fields of constitutional law, civil rights, civil liberties and voting rights. His other assignments include the House Judiciary Committee, the House Rules Committee and the House Oversight Committee, where he Chairs the Subcommittee on Civil Rights and Civil Liberties.