(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) joined Representative Mike Doyle (PA-14), the Ranking Member on the House Energy and Commerce Committee’s Subcommittee on Communications and Technology, and several other Members of Congress in condemning the Federal Communications Commission’s vote on Thursday to kill the Open Internet Order, which guarantees Net Neutrality.
Representatives Anna Eshoo (CA-18), Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01), Ro Khanna (CA-17), Richard M. Nolan (MN-08), Paul Tonko (NY-20), Marcy Kaptur (OH-09), Jerry McNerney (CA-09), Carolyn Maloney (NY-12), Betty McCollum (MN-04), and Peter Welch (VT-AL) also joined Congressmen Doyle and Raskin in condemning the FCC’s action and announcing their intention to introduce legislation to overturn the “Restoring Internet Freedom” order the Commission adopted with that vote. Companion legislation will be introduced in the Senate by Senator Ed Markey (D-MA).
“The Open Internet Order has been effective at preserving a level playing field where consumers have access to the content and services they want – and online businesses are able to compete on the basis of cost and quality of their product rather than how much they can pay Internet Service Providers to block or throttle their competition,” Congressman Doyle said in response to the FCC vote. “I’ve tried repeatedly to convince Chairman Pai to abandon his plans to dismantle the Open Internet Order – most recently by organizing a letter from 118 Members of Congress urging him not to take this vote today – and now that the FCC has voted to kill Net Neutrality and give ISPs a green light to control access to the Internet, I will introduce legislation under the Congressional Review Act to overturn today’s order and restore Net Neutrality.”