(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Today, Representatives Gerry Connolly (D-VA), Jamie Raskin (D-MD) and House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform Ranking Member Elijah Cummings (D-MD) led 95 Members of Congress in urging Speaker Paul Ryan and Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi to oppose any further cuts to federal employee pay and benefits to offset increased discretionary spending.

“Enough is enough. The federal workforce should be thanked for their honorable service, not treated like a piggy bank,” said Connolly, Raskin and Cummings.  

“Since 2011, federal employees have had their pay frozen three times (2011, 2012, 2013), three years of reduced pay increases (2014, 2015, 2016), unpaid furlough days from the 2013 sequestration, and two increases in retirement contributions for new employees (2013, 2014),” the Members of Congress wrote.

“While we agree that a long-term bipartisan budget agreement to lift the devastating sequestration caps is necessary, to finance such an agreement on the backs of middle class federal employees who have dedicated their lives to serving our nation would be wrong under any circumstances,” they added. “We respectfully request you explore other avenues to offset the cost of lifting the caps.”

The letter was signed by Representatives Hoyer, Connolly, Raskin, Barragan, Beyer, Bishop (GA), Blumenauer, Bonamici, Boyle, Brown, Carbajal, Carson, Cicilline, Clay, Cleaver, Costa, Courtney, Crist, Cummings, Davis (CA), Davis (IL), DeFazio, DeGette, Delaney, DeSaulnier, Deutch, Dingell, Doyle, Engel, Espaillat, Evans, Foster, Fudge, Gabbard, Gallego, Hanabusa, Higgins, Jackson Lee, Jayapal, Keating, Khanna, Kilmer, Kildee, Lawrence, Lee (CA), Levin, Lewis, Lipinski, Lofgren, Lowenthal, Lynch, Maloney, Matsui, McCollum, McEachin, McGovern, McNerney, Meng, Murphy (FL), Nadler, Napolitano, Nolan, Norcross, Norton, O'Halleran, Pallone, Perlmutter, Peters, Plaskett, Pocan, Price, Roybal-Allard, Ruppersberger, Rush, Ryan (OH), Sablan, Sanchez, Sarbanes, Schakowsky, Schrader, Scott (GA), Scott (VA), Serrano, Shea-Porter, Sires, Smith, Takano, Titus, Vargas, Visclosky, Watson Coleman, Welch, Wilson, Yarmuth.

The full letter is available here.