(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) will serve as the Vice-Ranking Member of the House Judiciary Committee in the 115th Congress. Raskin’s Democratic colleagues unanimously elected him to the leadership position today.

“The House Judiciary Committee has always played an essential role in defending the civil rights and liberties of the American people. Now, in the face of President Trump’s alarming contempt for our democratic values and the rule of law, the work of the Judiciary Committee has never been more important,” said Vice-Ranking Member Jamie Raskin. “I look forward to working with Ranking Member John Conyers and my Democratic colleagues to safeguard the Constitution and the Bill of Rights.”

“This is a special honor to serve directly under Congressman Conyers because I interned for him when I was a junior in college,” Raskin continued. “In the summer of 1982, I found my love for both the Constitution and this committee. What an honor to work with Congressman Conyers on upholding our constitutional values.”

Raskin was also tapped to serve on two Judiciary subcommittees in the 115th Congress: the Subcommittee on the Constitution and Civil Justice; and the Subcommittee on Regulatory Reform, Commercial and Antitrust Law.

The Constitution and Civil Justice Subcommittee’s jurisdiction includes constitutional amendments, constitutional rights, and federal civil rights. It is a natural fit for Raskin, who served as a constitutional law professor at the American University Washington College of Law for more than 25 years. The Subcommittee on Regulatory Reform, Commercial and Antitrust Law has jurisdiction that includes administrative law, interstate compacts, and antitrust matters. 


Congressman Jamie Raskin represents Maryland’s 8th Congressional District, which includes Montgomery, Frederick, and Carroll counties. He serves on the House Judiciary Committee and the House Oversight and Government Reform Committee. Raskin is the Freshman Representative on the House Democratic Steering and Policy Committee, the Congressional Progressive Caucus Vice Chair and Liaison to New Members, and a Senior Whip for the House Democratic Caucus.