WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen and Congressmen Steny H. Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, John Sarbanes, Kweisi Mfume, Jamie Raskin, David Trone and Glenn Ivey (all D-Md.) today announced $35,046,616 in U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development funding for 17 Maryland housing authorities to renovate, improve and build public housing throughout the state.

“Everyone deserves a safe and affordable place to call home. That’s why, as a delegation, Team Maryland is committed to finding solutions and increasing affordable options to address the housing crisis that has impacted so many in our state. These federal dollars will help provide a safe, dignified space for more Marylanders in need of an affordable place to live,” said the lawmakers. 

The following housing authorities received awards:

  1. $21,865,262, Housing Authority of Baltimore City
  2. $3,017,295, Hagerstown Housing Authority
  3. $2,338,316, Housing Authority of the City of Annapolis
  4. $1,192,353, Housing Authority of the City of Cumberland
  5. $1,180,247, Housing Commission of Anne Arundel County
  6. $1,120,357, Frederick Housing Authority
  7. $1,025,970, Housing Authority of Prince George’s County
  8. $1,009,997, Housing Authority of Crisfield
  9. $497,018, Wicomico County Housing Authority
  10. $360,007, Housing Commission of Talbot
  11. $300,056, Rockville Housing Enterprises
  12. $250,489, Housing Authority of the City of Frostburg
  13. $249,306, College Park Housing Authority
  14. $213,056, Elkton Housing Authority
  15. $197,760, Glenarden Housing Authority
  16. $170,395, Havre de Grace Housing Authority
  17. $58,732, Housing Opportunity Commission of Montgomery County

The awards were made available through the Department of Housing and Urban Development’s Capital Fund Program, which the lawmakers supported and increased funds through the Senate FY 2024 THUD bill.