Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Federal Workforce

For more information concerning work and views related to the federal workforce, please contact our office.

More on Federal Workforce

July 9, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) - Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) joined Congresswoman Suzan DelBene (WA-01) and 115 Members of Congress in sending a letter to Secretary of Defense Mark Esper and Attorney General William Barr, calling on the agencies to eliminate the ban on open transgender military service. This follows the June 15, 2020 Supreme Court ruling that Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 protects LGBTQ people from workplace discrimination.
June 10, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (D-MD) today joined Rep. Mike Levin (D-CA) and 137 House Members from both parties in sending a letter to Senate leadership urging them to pass legislation providing $25 billion in emergency grants to the United States Postal Service (USPS). The funding is desperately needed to offset USPS revenue losses as a result of COVID-19, which are now expected to total $22 billion over the next 18 months and could force the agency to close. Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA) joined Rep. Levin in leading the letter.
June 4, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – U.S. Representatives Jamie Raskin (D-MD), Donald Beyer (D-VA) and Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC) today led more than 120 House Members in demanding answers from Attorney General William Barr about Department of Justice (DOJ)’s deployment of unidentifiable law enforcement officers in Washington, D.C. amid the Black Lives Matter and Justice for George Floyd protests. The lawmakers sent the letter amid reports that Barr deployed DOJ law enforcement officers, including personnel from the Bureau of Prisons (BOP), to police protesters in Washington, D.C. without carrying identifying name plates, official insignia, or agency markings of any kind on their uniforms, which undermines public safety, trust, and peace.
May 8, 2020 Press Release

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Representatives Jamie Raskin (D-MD), Gerry Connolly (D-VA), and Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), joined by Committee on Oversight and Reform Chair Carolyn Maloney (D-NY), today urged House leadership to broaden paid parental leave provisions for federal workers to include pregnant, adoptive, and foster parents expecting a child before October 1, 2020.

May 8, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) today joined Reps. Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. (NC-12) and Peter DeFazio (OR-04) and 80 additional Members of Congress in sending a letter to House Speaker Nancy Pelosi and House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy requesting the strongest possible relief for the United States Postal Service in the next round of COVID-19 relief legislation.
May 7, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin today joined U.S. Senators Chris Van Hollen and Ben Cardin and Congressmen Steny H. Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, John P. Sarbanes, Andy Harris, M.D., Kweisi Mfume, Anthony G. Brown, and David Trone (all Md.) in announcing that Maryland received an award of $17,133,477 in state and national AmeriCorps funding.
May 5, 2020 Press Release

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) - Congressman Jamie Raskin (D-MD) today joined Congresswoman Jennifer Wexton (D-VA) in introducing the Federal Frontline Worker Leave Protection Act to ensure that the essential federal employees who have been working to aid the government’s response to COVID-19 do not lose their annual leave due to an inability to take time off as a result of the crisis. The Federal Frontline Worker Leave Protection Act is co-sponsored by Representatives Don Beyer (D-VA), Stephen Lynch (D-MA), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC).

April 28, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) - Congressman Jamie Raskin (D-Md.) today joined Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.) and Rep. Dean Phillips (D-Minn.) and 35 colleagues in announcing that the Department of Labor has issued guidance confirming the eligibility of Peace Corps and AmeriCorps participants for unemployment assistance due to the COVID-19 outbreak. In a bipartisan letter sent April 2, 2020, the Members urged Secretary of Labor Eugene Scalia to clarify that the Pandemic Unemployment Assistance program passed within the CARES Act covers Peace Corps and AmeriCorps participants. As the Members pointed to in their letter, this designation is in line with Congressional intent, but DOL guidance released today provides certainty.
April 17, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – As Congress continues negotiations on the fourth phase of emergency coronavirus relief for the American people, Congressman Jamie Raskin (D-MD) joined Rep. Emanuel Cleaver, II (D-MO) and over 120 lawmakers in urging congressional leadership to include funding for the United States Postal Service (USPS) in the final legislation.
March 6, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.)--Today, Congressman Jamie Raskin (D-MD) joined Congressman Gerry Connolly (D-VA), Chairman of the Government Operations Subcommittee, and Representatives John Sarbanes (D-MD) and Jennifer Wexton (D-VA) in introducing the Telework Metrics and Cost Savings Act, H.R. 6108, legislation to expand federal telework. Senators Ben Cardin (D-MD), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), and Mazie Hirono (D-HI) introduced companion legislation in the Senate.