Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed


For more information concerning work and views related to Education, please contact our office.

More on Education

March 26, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) - Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) today joined Rep. Abigail Spanberger (PA-07) and 50 colleagues in calling on Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Chairman Ajit Pai to take immediate steps to expand high-speed internet access for students facing school closures in response to the coronavirus pandemic.
March 24, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) joined Congressman Bill Foster (D-IL) and Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur (D-OH) in sending a letter to the nation’s nine federal student loan servicers urging them to apply emergency financial assistance measures announced by the Department of Education in the midst of the COVID-19 crisis to all of the loans they currently service.
March 21, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) joined Democratic Policy and Communications Committee Chair David N. Cicilline (RI-01) and 55 colleagues in urging House negotiators to defer or forbear all federal student loans in the next coronavirus stimulus package.
March 20, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) -- Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) today joined Congressman Andy Levin (MI-09), vice chair of the House Education and Labor Committee, and 36 colleagues in sending a bipartisan letter to Congressional leaders requesting additional support for libraries in future COVID-19 relief packages.
March 18, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) - Today Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) joined Representatives Chris Pappas (NH-01), Katherine Clark (MA-05), and Ruben Gallego (AZ-07) and a group of 72 bipartisan lawmakers in calling on Secretary DeVos to take steps to ensure that the financial burden of university closures and migration to remote learning do not result in financial burdens for students.
January 16, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Today Representatives Jared Huffman (CA-02) and Jamie Raskin (MD-08), founders of the Congressional Freethought Caucus, issued the following statement regarding President Trump’s guidance on prayer in public schools:
December 19, 2019 Press Release
(ROCKVILLE, M.D.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) today announced the winner of his 2019 Congressional App Challenge: a team of Montgomery Blair High School students, Matthew Castertano, Andrew Healey, and Aaron Chyatte, who won for their submission, “Search Party.”
November 21, 2019 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin joined Senators Chris Van Hollen and Ben Cardin (all D-Md.) and Senator Jack Reed (D-R.I.) in writing to Defense Secretary Mark Esper to raise serious objections to any proposed cuts to the budget of the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences (USU). Based in Bethesda, Md., USU is a part of the military academy system and is the only medical and nursing school in the country that is dedicated to military and combat medicine.
November 12, 2019 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Today, Congressman Jamie Raskin joined House Assistant Speaker Ben Ray Luján, Congressman Jimmy Gomez, and additional House Members in introducing bipartisan legislation to support student veterans and address wage disparities.
October 7, 2019 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08), Chair of the House Oversight Committee Subcommittee on Civil Rights and Civil Liberties, and Congressman Andy Levin (MI-09), Vice Chair of the House Education and Labor Committee, today sent a letter to Department of Education Secretary Betsy DeVos expressing concern about the Department’s efforts to censor viewpoints that are critical of its work.