Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Economy & Consumer Rights

For more information concerning work and views related to the economy and consumer rights, please contact our office.

More on Economy & Consumer Rights

July 9, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.)—Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) today sent a letter to President Donald J. Trump urging his administration to extend federal unemployment insurance benefits, which are set to run out at the end of July without action by the White House and U.S. Senate.
July 9, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – As the coronavirus pandemic wreaks catastrophic unemployment and millions struggle to pay rent—and yet corporate lobbyists press for more windfalls—Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD) joined moer than 100 lawmakers in urging House and Senate leaders to reject wasteful corporate tax breaks in the next relief legislation, and instead work to provide assistance directly to those who need it most. Representatives Lloyd Doggett (TX), Rosa DeLauro (CT), and Steve Cohen (TN) and Senators Sherrod Brown (OH) and Sheldon Whitehouse (RI) led the effort.
July 8, 2020 Press Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. — Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) led 33 House Members in urging Small Business Administration (SBA) Administrator Jovita Carranza and Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin to immediately issue guidance clarifying that small business owners who returned their Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loans are able to reapply for the program given that the terms have been substantially improved by the recently adopted Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) Flexibility Act. Numerous constituents have expressed concern that their lenders were unable to process their second loan application or were uncertain about whether they should because the first loan had been returned.
June 26, 2020 Press Release

(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) joined Congresswoman Jackie Speier (CA-14) and Congressman Michael McCaul (TX-10) in sending a letter today to Experian CEO Brian Cassian requesting the company ensures that unintentional, duplicative inquiries for an individual’s Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) application do not unduly affect their credit scores. EIDL is administered through the Small Business Administration (SBA), which uses Experian for its credit reporting purposes.

June 25, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (D-Md.) today joined Senators Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), and Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.) and Reps. Mark Pocan (D-Wis.) and a number of House members in introducing the Rebuilding Main Street Act, legislation to help small businesses, nonprofits, and workers weather the economic impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic and support safe reopening. The legislation expands the existing work share program to allow employers to share their payroll costs with the federal government, while receiving grant help to cover other fixed costs such as rent and needs for reopening safely like cleaning and protective equipment. After 14 straight weeks in which more than one million workers filed for unemployment benefits, the legislation would help laid off workers safety return to their jobs at reduced hours while continuing to receive a pro-rated unemployment benefit to compensate for their lost wages.
June 17, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) - Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) today joined 34 of her colleagues in sending a letter demanding improved transparency and immediate disclosure of data on how taxpayer funds were allocated through the Paycheck Protection Program (PPP). The letter, which was sent to U.S. Department of the Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin and Small Business Administration (SBA) Administrator Jovita Carranza, also raises concerns that the PPP’s application processes may have failed to adequately assist smaller community businesses and minority-owned businesses during the ongoing coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.
June 9, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) and the Maryland congressional delegation, including U.S. Senators Ben Cardin and Chris Van Hollen and Congressmen Steny H. Hoyer, Dutch Ruppersberger, John P. Sarbanes, Kweisi Mfume, Andy Harris, M.D., Anthony G. Brown, and David Trone. are calling on Governor Larry Hogan to fix Maryland’s Unemployment Insurance (UI) claim system and improve delivery of critical financial insurance benefits to Marylanders still struggling during this public health emergency.
June 5, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) today wrote to Governor Larry Hogan to communicate concerns that have been persistently raised by his constituents attempting to access unemployment insurance during the coronavirus pandemic.
May 26, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) today joined Rep. Jan Schakowsky (IL-09), a Senior Chief Deputy Whip and Chair of the Consumer Protection and Commerce Subcommittee of the House Energy and Commerce Committee, and Rep. Jesús “Chuy” García (IL-04) and Katie Porter (CA-45) in sending a letter to U.S. Treasury Secretary Steve Mnuchin asking him to clarify the guidance given to airlines receiving support as provided by Subtitle B of Title IV of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act. Congress’ intent when including the Air Carrier Worker Support provisions was to prevent airline workers from suffering the negative economic impacts of the ongoing pandemic.
May 22, 2020 Press Release
(WASHINGTON, D.C.) – Congressman Jamie Raskin (MD-08) joined Reps. Steve Cohen (TN-09) and Congresswoman Lauren Underwood (IL-14) today in introducing the Cash Refunds for Coronavirus Cancellations Act. The bill would require major airlines and third-party ticket sellers to offer full cash refunds for all cancelled tickets during the coronavirus pandemic, regardless of whether the airline cancelled an entire flight or if the passenger cancelled his or her individual ticket.